Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Travels Around the World

Bucket list stuff by Kate Hardy

As you might have gathered from previous posts, this is my Year of Having Fun, and last week I ticked quite a few things off my bucket list.

Ever since I was really small and first read Nordic mythology, I’ve wanted to visit Iceland. Last week, I finally made it to Reykjavic.

And it was AMAZING.

The midnight sun means just that. Look at this sunset!

iceland day 2 073 RK sunset

This was getting on for 11pm – but it didn’t actually get dark. I woke at 1am and it was still light. And at 3am. And I saw the sun rise at 5am.

iceland day 2 000 sunrise

We went to the Thingvellir National Park and saw the tectonic plates splitting.

iceland day 2 013 gct thingvellir

We saw amazing waterfalls with rainbows. (This is Gullfoss.)

iceland day 2 025 gct gullfoss

We visited the Geyir area and saw a geyser erupting (it’s really interesting because you can see the water boiling at the bottom and the cooler water at the top making a ‘lid’, and then you can see the pressure get too much and it blows).

iceland day 2 46a geysir

We saw humpback whales breaching in the wild (that was so incredible – really humbling).

iceland day 3 026 RK whales

We saw black sandy beaches. (This is the Dyrholaey promontory.)

iceland day 4 035 sit Dyrhólaey

We got up close to a glacier. (Solheimajokull.)

iceland day 4 045 sit Solheimjokull

And we walked behind a waterfall at Seljalandsfoss.

iceland day 4 053 sit Seljalandsfos

It was an incredible few days, and the best thing of all was sharing it with the people I love most in the world.

And, to top it all, today marks the release of my 70th M&B (it’s a Cherish/Romance rather than a Medical, but I hope you won’t mind me sharing here) and it’s my 24th wedding anniversary!

FFTSM

So have you visited anywhere that took your breath away?

12 thoughts on “Bucket list stuff by Kate Hardy”

  1. Gorgeous pictures! Now I’m adding Iceland to my bucket list, too. 😉 I’ve been fortunate to see so many breath-taking places. Most recently a few come to mind – The Cliffs of Mohr and the Giant’s Causeway in Ireland, also the Canadian side of Niagara Falls was astounding! and Sooo loud.
    You’re 70th book cover is lovely and Happy 24th Anniversary. That’s a lot to handle for one day, but have a blast!

  2. Kate
    Your pictures are amazing! I’ve never been to Iceland but now I’m thinking I need to plan a trip. Congratulations on the 70th book and your wedding anniversary. Both are worth celebrating. Beautiful cover.
    The northern lights are pretty breathtaking and seeing a rainbow over the emerald green fields of Ireland was beautiful as well.

  3. Wonderful pictures Kate, thank you so much for sharing them! I think that walking behind a waterfall really should be on my bucket list somewhere 🙂

    Congratulations on 24th wedding anniversary and your 70th book!

  4. So cool, Kate! I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland. Congrats on your 24th anniversary and your 70th book! xo

  5. When I took a cruise around Hawaii with my older son, we took a side trip on the island of Maui up to Haleakala National Park to see the huge volcanic crater..it was like being on another planet (plus it was cold!!!) One of the most amazing sights!
    Congrats on your 70th book. I look forward to reading it. Hope you get a lot more things crossed off your bucket list!

    1. Laurie, I was going to list Haleakala as an amazing place that took my breath away, too! Like you, I felt like I might be on the moon. Truly incredible 🙂

  6. Kate

    Thank you so much for those amazing photos what a trip that must have been and I will have you 70th book on my kindle August 8th because that is when it is released here in Oz 🙂

    We went on a cruise to New Zealand a few years ago and sailed up through the Fiords Milford Sound Dusky Sound and yep took my breathe away what an amazing sight

    Happy Anniversary

    Have Fun
    Helen

  7. Fantastic! Thanks so much for sharing the photos. I remember playing cards at 3AM by natural light in Lapland many moons ago. Would LOVE to go to Iceland. Happy Wedding Anniversary and congrats on the 70th book. WOW! Fiona x

  8. Have loved seeing your photos, Kate! So many amazing things in one trip. After seeing them, I told my family I want to go to Iceland. Hubby looked at me like I was a little nuts, but it’s high on my list now 🙂

    I’ve been lucky to experience a number of places that took my breath away. The granite cliffs of Yosemite National Park in California. Seeing the Parthenon high above Athens, the moon hanging above it. Santorini. The colorful towns clinging to the hillsides of Cinque Terre in Italy. The glaciers in Alaska. Ah, your photos and my memories are making me want to hop on a plane right now!

    And celebrating your anniversary and 70th book? That’s a lot of awesomeness in one month. Congratulations 🙂

  9. Fab pictures Kate, looks like you had the time of your life! Congrats on 24 years married and 70 books – I’m in awe!

  10. Wow, what a year you’re having!! Amazing pictures- now I really want to go to Iceland! Massive congratulations on your 70th book and your wedding anniversary- lots of reasons to celebrate hard!! xxxx

  11. Love our pics, Kate! So much for sharing 🙂 and congrats on the 24 and 70!
    I’ve been to some pretty amazing places although never to Iceland which is on my list! I feel a special affinity for Iceland because the first translation I ever received was Icelandic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

