Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

When I’m not writing I’m …

Hi there

Most of my week is spent sitting at the desk in front of my laptop trying to write stories.

But I do take breaks. patchwork Patchwork is one of

my past times, though why I like to cut fabric up into thousands of tiny pieces only to sew them all together again is a bit crazy.

Then there are the chooks to look out for. A few weeks ago a falcon swooped in and killed one of my girls so I had to spend hours putting up netting to protect the rest. So far it’s working.

img_6420

The raspberry patch needed to be dug over and the plants split before replanting. That kept me out of mischief for days. Now I can’t wait for December and lots of yummy berries. The cherry tree is my next target as it needs pruning.

raspberries

Now spring is here I’m testing the water temperature so I can get the kayak out again. I don’t use it in the winter as I haven’t got a wet suit and I always get soaked. The bike needs dusting and the tyres pumping too.

What do you do in your down time between work and chores? Note, I didn’t mention housework.

This is my current book on the shelves. Set in Wellington, NZ, with drugs and a gun totting villain in the first few pages.cover-dr-whites-baby-wish

8 thoughts on “When I’m not writing I’m …”

    1. I don’t get the remote very often, AA. 🙂 And yes, I should’ve added reading to that list. The cover is one of my better ones, for sure.

  1. I worked nights for over 30 years, so my internal clock is never going to reset. My hobbies are crafting,digital photography/photo editing and watching TV. I like cooking shows, Grey’s Anatomy and an Aussie show…Offspring (sadly, I have to wait to watch it because Season 6 will not air
    here until January, and I can’t watch it on the web player for channel 10..it’s blocked in the USA)…sigh. Love me some Lachy Hulme! I always thought I’d like to try quilting, I have a whole bag full of my husband’s old Hawaiian print shirts that I thought would be a neat quilt, but it’s still in my craft room closet!
    Can’t wait to read the new book, Sue!
    Laurie Bodshaug

  2. Those night shifts seem to stuff body clocks badly. I love cooking shows too, especially some of the contest ones. Quilting is fun, and the women I do it with are wonderful. We have a lot of laughs which is cathartic after spending hours trying to make my characters behave.

  3. Hi Sue

    For me reading and playing with the grandkids I am glad you left out housework LOL love you gardening maybe I should start to get active in the garden 🙂 with the weather warming up here as well. I look forward to your new book

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Hi Helen, I’m a very sporadic gardener. Out here in the bush we tend to only grow what can be eaten which I am happier about looking after.

  4. You’re a busy woman, Sue! And I’m intrigued by your new book with its gun-toting villain! 🙂

    I’m a sporadic gardener also, though I’ve been forced to stick to mostly flowers instead of vegetables because the deer population here keeps growing, and I don’t have the energy to put up a 9 foot fence to keep them out. I enjoy the creativity and challenge of a flower garden, but life is busy and its been a super hot summer here, which has made weeding and tending a chore I don’t enjoy. I play piano and decided a few years ago to challenge myself with new material I’m forced to learn to play until it’s good, instead of muddle through and be happy with mediocrity, so I take lessons now. I’m currently learning harmonization (which should have been part of my lessons years ago, but wasn’t) and it’s taxing my brain a bit! Which is probably a good thing 🙂 I love to cook (and drink a glass of wine while I’m cooking) which is one of the reasons I’m back to an exercise program 🙂 I’m getting into a new routine with that, which feels good. And, yes, reading, of course! 🙂

    1. I’m busy? You sound very busy, Robin. Love the sound of those piano lessons. I haven’t played since I was a teenager, and wasn’t that great at it. You have deer, we have pigs which like to root up everything in sight, but fortunately there are many acres of bush for them to wreck first. Fingers crossed. love the cooking and wine scenario. That’s a regular in my kitchen too.

Leave a Reply

