Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, New Releases

People Watching

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABy the time you read this, I’ll be on this vessel. The Independence of the Seas. I love cruising and watching my family have a great time and there’s nothing more relaxing than being on a cruise ship. If you’ve never tried one, do it if you can! It’s an experience.

Where else can you be treated like a queen? Because it doesn’t happen at home, I can tell you! At home, I’m chief maid, laundry person, cook and nurse. Not to mention chauffeur, homework advisor, birthday rememberer (is that a word?) and a whole lot of other job titles.

But not queen.

The one thing I love the most about being on board, is the people watching. I have one or two favourite spots, overlooking the promenade that runs down the heart of the ship and I can fully indulge in my favourite hobby, whilst I sip my tea and eat the cookies that have been made especially for me (queen, remember?) OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I go all Sherlock. Analysing everything about them to see what I can define about them. I give them names, I imagine what job they have and how they are with their friends. Whether they have an accent, what kinds of things they like doing – I create their story. (I also get to do this out dog walking every day. People wear some weird things when they dog walk and let’s not forget that chic accessory of a bag of dog poop!)

Because all good writers need great characters for their stories and they have to be fully-fleshed out individuals. Not just a name, an age and a backstory of something tragic. They have to be a person. With quirks and traits, not just physical description. I have to know who they are. What their dreams are. Their secrets. Their fears. I have to know the one thing they would never tell anyone else. I have to know who broke their heart, or who betrayed them, or what their opinions are on anything from Trump v Clinton, down to whether they like to eat Brussels Sprouts!

img_9982People are weird and fascinating. Even my own family are weird and fascinating. (Here’s my husband and one of my sons. Told ya. Weird.) Six individuals who have all been living together for years and each of them different and unique, with strengths and weaknesses that would surprise a lot of you.

People watching is an endless fascination, because there are so many different stories. Each person will inspire something wonderful when I see them, surprising me and letting me store that fact away, so that when I’m thinking up new characters, I can take ickle bitty things from each one, to create someone new.

If I could get away with just people watching on the boat, I’d be a very happy woman, but there’s so much to do, I’m probably off ice skating, or playing golf, or eating. (yeah, probably eating, to be honest!) img_1188

Do you like people watching? Who is the most unique character you have ever seen? I’d love to hear about them!

Louisa’s next title, Christmas With The Single Dad is out December 1, 2016 and is available from all good stockists.

Amazon (UK) Amazon (US) Barnes & Noble Mills and Boon

9781488010002

15 thoughts on “People Watching”

  1. We’ve just been on our first cruise this year, Louisa. I didn’t really think it would be my thing and I do get seasick – which is why I chose the generally calm waters of the Med – but I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. I never felt like I was on a boat once -until I got off it of course and those wedird wobbly moments lets you know ou have indeed been on a boat!

    Peole watcig is my favourite thign in thr world to do which is why I love airports! The most mind goggling thing I ever saw was a passionate couple at my departure gate kissing like the world wa gong to end. She was crtying lke mad too – in btween suciiung hs faceb off. She had one of those dashboard hula dolls in its plastic packaging held tight in her hands -m and also squashed berween them gfot the majpority of the time. Anyway, FF 20 minutres ad guess who I was itting nextb to on the flight? Yep – the c hick. Who esd dtill cltchi8ng her doll ANDF crying. So of course I had to ask…

    Apparently the guy was an ex who was marrying his fiace the nextbweekend but knew he had tpo see hs ex one lastb time. As soon as he zsaw her he knew he srill lioved her and he was goignjome to his fan e to trll herr the weddmh was off!!! I was agog! Agog I tell you!!!

    1. ignore this comment – cant figure out how to delete. I did it on my treadmill desk and I was in the process of deleting when I accidentally posted….ARGH!!! More readable comment below 🙂

  2. We’ve just been on our first cruise this year, Louisa. I didn’t really think it would be my thing and I do get seasick – which is why I chose the generally calm waters of the Med – but I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. I never felt like I was on a boat once -until I got off it of course and those weird wobbly moments lets you know you have indeed been on a boat!

    People watching is my favourite thing in the world to do which is why I love airports! The most mind goggling thing I ever saw was a passionate couple at my departure gate kissing like the world was going to end. She was crying like mad too – in between sucking his face off. She had one of those dashboard hula dolls in its plastic packaging held tight in her hands – and also squashed berween them for the majority of the time. Anyway, FF 20 minutes and guess who I was sitting next to on the flight? Yep – the chick. Who was still clutching her doll AND crying. So of course I had to ask…

    Apparently the guy was an ex who was marrying his fiancé the next weekend but knew he had to see his ex one last time so they met in Sydney in a very clandestine way. As soon as he saw her he knew he still loved her and he was going home to NZ to his fiancé to tell her the wedding was off and he was moving back to Australia!!!

    I was agog! Agog I tell you!!!

    1. OMG, Amy! What a story! Wowzer. It all happens at airports, doesn’t it? Glad to hear you enjoyed your cruise experience. I’ve just got back today, we went to Bruge and it was amazing! All those chocolate shops!

    2. Oh, now there’s some people watching, Amy! I’m willing to bet that after all the kissing and declarations of renewed love and his promise to call off the wedding, that once she was on the plane, the guy had time to think about it and got married to the other woman. Yeah, not spoken like a romance author, but I know people to whom this has happened! 🙂 So I guess the heroine has to be the one going through losing the love her life twice – the jerk! Ah, I feel a need to write the poor girl’s story now…;-)

  3. I love cruising! Living near Port Canaveral in Florida, Florida Residents used to get really good last minute discounts for 3 day weekend cruises. Over the years I started taking longer 5-8 day cruises. Have seen most of the Caribbean, Mexico on both the pacific and gulf sides, and Belize. Did a 7 day Alaska cruise with my sister and family (LOVE Alaska) and a 7 day around he Hawaiian islands with my oldest son when he graduated college. Still dream of cruising the Mediterranean, but am unable to do it right now. I’d be interested to hear how the transatlantic crossing is! Bon Voyage!

    1. As for people watching, I live in Orlando, there are so many places to people watch.. the Theme parks always have some interesting folks to watch. Gotta love those tourists! I am that person who can sit on a park bench and talk to anyone. I have never met a stranger who didn’t have something interesting to talk about.

      1. Hi Laurie! Another cruising veteran! Sounds like you’ve been to some amazing places. We went to Bruges and it was gorgeous. Just a four day cruise this time, crammed into the kids half term break.

  4. Hi Louisa

    I wish I was with you I too love cruising and have been on 3 so far and fingers crossed many more to come I love being treated like a Queen as well and people watching and listening on conversations can be fun. I can remember being a teenager and a few of us would sit at the local train station for hours and make up stories about people coming of the trains 🙂 oh those were the days.
    Enjoy that cruise and what a fabulous cover for the next book can’t wait to read it

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Hi Helen! I love cruising, too, but this is the first one I’ve been on since I’ve started suffering with vertigo and dizziness, so was a bit worried that any waves would set me off, but I hardly noticed. There were some very interesting people on board with us and though I scanned the ships library, there were no medical romances on board! Too late, I realised I should have taken some of mine to donate (cheeky advertising, lol) next time, maybe…

  5. The most interesting cruise I have done was on the Disney Magic. I went with my best friend and her 2 kids, who were 7 and 12. It was a Halloween cruise, so there were great decorations (as only Disney can do) and a huge costume party. Their private island, castaway Cay, was great. I could be stranded there forever! The cruise itself was almost too much…so many little kids, Disney characters at every turn, every show was a Disney show, it was overload! The adult entertainment was pretty “sanitized” and there was no casion, so I didn’t lose any money!

    On Thu, Oct 27, 2016 at 8:11 PM, Love is the Best Medicine wrote:

    > louisaheaton posted: “By the time you read this, I’ll be on this vessel. > The Independence of the Seas. I love cruising and watching my family have a > great time and there’s nothing more relaxing than being on a cruise ship. > If you’ve never tried one, do it if you can! It’s an e” >

  6. Lots of unusual and interesting people to watch in the world, for sure, Louisa! Once,I saw a woman dump her dinner plate onto the lap of the man she was with and storm out of the restaurant – only thought that happened in the movies! 🙂

    The most unusual character was a man whose face and neck was tattooed on every speck of skin, leering out his car window at my teenage daughter. He creeped me out so much when we stopped at a red light, I decided to drive home a different way, then asked myself if maybe I was assuming things because of the way he looked, and he might actually be a fine person. But then I decided that no one tattoos their face like that without wanting to look bizarre and intimidating, and then there was the leering – he definitely seemed perfect for the bad-guy in a thriller!

    1. Gut feelings are usually there for a reason, I think! If something’s feels off, then go with it, just in case.
      The most unusual guy I ever saw looked like Gandalf. Long grey hair down to his waist, long greybeard, but a skintight tartan suit and a cowboy hat. To this day I still can’t pick the right name for him!

Leave a Reply

