Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Holiday Celebrations

Introducing Charlotte Ellis

charlotte-ellis-bio-imageHello everyone!

I’m Charlotte the new Editorial Assistant for the Harlequin/Mills and Boon Medical Romance team. And seeing as I’ve been here at True Love towers for a couple of months I thought it was high time I introduced myself—but bear with me, writing about yourself is a lot harder than I first thought! Although as we’re on the countdown to Christmas and the Medical Romance Christmas line-up is in full swing I think it best to start there.

I’ve always been one of those people that was adamant Christmas celebrations should be saved until December and in our house the smooth melodies of Michael Bublé’s Christmas album and whimsical sound of ‘Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas’ (my favourite Christmas song) are not normally heard before December 1st. But recently I’ve realised how very wrong I was! Working at Harlequin/Mills and Boon you get the holiday season in abundance and I’m loving it! Not only do I get to work with the wonderful and real-life Medical Romance authors and our editorial team but the fact that our gorgeous doctor heroes start appearing in Christmas books from October means I can certainly see the benefits of the extended holiday season.

But that’s just one more thing to love about Christmas. For me the real magic of Christmas isn’t just the day itself but those few weeks in the run up to the special day and the anticipation that builds as each and every single chocolate is released from its little advent calendar prison!

So here are some of my favourite parts:

  1. The cold weather! Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean actually being out in it! Being a netballer, I have had to endure the wind, rain and snow willingly on occasion, but I do not normally enjoy having to brave the elements. There is, however, a wonderfully magical appeal to curling up on the sofa with a mug of tea and the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy (though it’s not the same since the loss of McDreamy) and watching as the weather wages war outside.
  1. Family get-togethers. I love spending time with my family and Christmas for me is really an excuse to do just that. Our adaption of Radio 4’s ‘Desert Island Disc’s’ into a family Christmas event has become an annual favourite.
  1. Christmas trees. Is there anything more wonderful than the smell of a Christmas tree?!
  1. The lights! Everything is lit up like, dare I say it, a Christmas tree, giving everything a beautiful glow and making the journey home from work much more festive.
  1. The chance to read a good book (or ten!). With the extra time off at Christmas the chance to read a good Christmassy book has finally arrived. And mixing it with a little romance makes it all the more magical. Indeed Medical Romance is stuffed full of Christmas crackers this year. From a wonderful Christmas duet by Emily Forbes and Amy Andrews, released in October, to a full on Christmas line up in November and December, including a gorgeous four-book seasonal linked miniseries set in maternity from Tina Beckett, Kate Hardy, Susannne Hampton and Scarlet Wilson and fabulous festive stories from Alison Roberts, Annie, O Neil, Janice Lynn, Amy Ruttan, Carol Marinelli, Sue MacKay, Susan Carlisle and Louisa Heaton. I can’t wait!

I’d love to hear from you so leave me a comment below (and tell me all about what makes your Christmas so special!)

Charlotte x

7 thoughts on “Introducing Charlotte Ellis”

  1. Hi Charlotte

    Lovely to meet you and I too love Christmas and especially Christmas stories and have read some beauties already from this medical line and still more to come 🙂

    I live in Australia so things are warming up over here and the aircon will get a good work out as will my daughters pool over Christmas for me Christmas is about spending time with family lots of good food I mean Christmas cake and pudding ham chocolate and then the cricket and a good book to relax with 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. I long for a white Christmas but no chance of that in Sydney. I’m usually very strict about a December 1 kick-off for all things Christmas, but I jumped the gun this year with fruit mince tarts!

  3. Family get-togethers are hellish for us. I prefer to stick with my own little mini-tribe. Too many difficult personalities, heh. Best thing about Christmas for me? Shutting out the world, even if only for a few hours, and yes, reading something lovely and comforting like a romance. Oh, and mince pies. Yum!!

  4. Charlotte,
    Thanks for joining us today. I’m sorry I didn’t get to say a personal hello when I was in England recently. I like sitting around the table laughing with my children and grandchildren the best during the holidays. Putting up the Christmas tree and stockings runs a close second.
    Your Christmas time sounds amazing.

  5. Hi Charlotte, so lovely to have you here 🙂 I love Christmas too and the chance to catch up on my reading but here in Australia it’s all about summer and reading by the pool or on the beach – bliss! Enjoy your holidays and your reading and I’m looking forward to working with you xx

  6. Welcome Charlotte!!!
    I love ALL things Xmas! And whilst we have a hot Xmas DownUnder I have experinced a few English Xmas’s too and although I’m not generally fond of being cold there is something very elemental about cold weather and snow at that time of year. It’s like living in a Xmas card where robins sit on snow covered fences and holly wreaths adorn dooors while rugged up carollers sing from door to door. Happy sigh!
    We have a Dec 1 rule in our house too but I must admit I secretly like that the shops are all decked out in Novemeber and when the piped carols start, I’m in secret-early-Xmas-addict heaven!! 🙂

  7. Welcome, Charlotte! I have to say, my hubby is the one who gets Christmas off to a great start. He loves Christmas. LOVES it. Christmas music gets an early start at our house (much to the chagrin of our children, who act like they hate it, but secretly love it…I think). Then come the movies (White Christmas and It’s a Wonderful Life, anyone?). Finally the tree goes up. He’s good at making it all fun. We just go along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

