Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Some more steps!

swansLast March I blogged about my resolution to walk 1,000 miles in 2016 (and posted this picture of some swans I’d met on the way).  The comments I received in reply showed me what a popular form of exercise walking is, and I promised to post an update on how I was going.  I was hoping that by now I’d be able to share my success with you but…  Well maybe this time next year 🙂

I started off with good intentions and some trepidation.  By March I’d worked through the initial aches and pains, and by the summer I’d made the 500 mile mark.  The weather was fine and using my feet to take me where I wanted to go, instead of travelling by bus or car, was a joy.  I was beginning to be quietly confident about completing the 1,000 miles by the end of the year.

Then, suddenly, someone threw a spanner into the works.  (Actually, that someone was me…)  After a morning’s writing, and still half in the world that my hero and heroine inhabited, I got to my feet and stubbed my toe.  Not such a disaster, but when I’d finished hopping around and cursing a bit, I looked down at my foot and saw that it was already swelling, and one of my toes was sitting at a very unlikely angle.

So, cutting a long story short, a kind and very no-nonsense nurse pulled my dislocated toe straight again and I was given a special shoe to wear for a couple of weeks.  After six weeks, I was ready to slip my foot back into my walking shoes.  Compared to the difficulties that so many people face, the hill in front of me was barely a bump in the road, but still the next 50 miles felt slower than the last 500.  My foot was getting better though, and the world was once again beginning to shrink.  With a bit of luck and a following wind, I still reckoned I might make my 1,000 miles.

But it wasn’t to be.  I never really gave up on the walking, but I couldn’t do as much as I’d hoped.  I Rested, Iced, Compressed and Elevated, treated myself to a good pair of walking socks and memory foam insoles, but I’d done more damage to my foot than was apparent straight away, and it was going to take its own sweet time in getting better.  After being able to trek six or seven miles every day without getting tired, it was frustrating to have to stop after the first mile or so and, needless to say, I didn’t make my 1,000 miles.

Failure?  Looking at it quantitively, yes.  But I did my best, which feels like a different kind of success.  And this year I’m trying again, even if my foot still isn’t 100% and I’m told that I must still work my way back up to the longer walks.  Because writing has taught me a couple of very important lessons.  Learning what you can and can’t do isn’t failure, and there’s always a next time. And, of course, the swans and ducks in the park still need to be fed… 🙂

When I last blogged about walking Amy Ruttan made a comment which sparked my imagination – how far would I have got if I’d been walking in a straight line and not round in circles?  So far this year, I reckon I’ve got as far as the Eurotunnel terminus at Waterloo Station.  Which isn’t much to write home about, but look at all the places I can go from there!

Wishing you all a happy and healthy New Year!  And may all of your New Year’s resolutions be a learning experience 🙂

10 thoughts on “Some more steps!”

  1. Happy New Year Lovely, so sorry to hear about the problem with your toe and the havoc its caused for you, I truly hope it will heal fully, remember though healing takes time pushing it can make it harder for the body to repair itself, I’m glad your getting out and about though, sounds like you had awesome walks and routes that you took, swans are so beautiful to watch especially with signets,

    Truly hope you reach your goal break it into chunks your injury can manage and don’t worry about tomorrows chunk till tomorrow I bet you’ll manage it no problem.

    Love and healing hugs

    Gwessie. 💖

    1. Thank you for your words of wisdom Gwessie. I’ll take careful heed of them. ❤ I hope that the mountains you scale every day become easier this year.

      I never tire of watching the swans either. Our local swans built a number of nests but there were no signets – hopefully we'll have some this year. But there were plenty of baby ducks and geese, along with some very hungry parents! xxx

  2. Hi Annie

    I do hope that your foot heals quickly for you and soon you will be back on track there will always be set-backs in life and handling them with positive thoughts is the best way, I too have slowed up on my walking owing to the fact that I have had 2 lots of surgery since October and am still healing this is going to be a bit longer yet but I did manage to get out yesterday (even though it was so humid) and walk around the park once woohoo little steps fingers crossed soon I will be back to the usual although I don’t have the lovely swans to admire like you but I have lots of Corellas, Cockatoos and Galahs that are very noisy I might add 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Thank you Helen! Do take care after your surgery – just a few steps is an achievement while you’re still healing. As you say, it’s the way we handle the set-backs that matters.

      There’s something about being able to do a full circuit of the park that’s very satisfying, isn’t there – however large or small the park happens to be 🙂 And your Corellas, Cockatoos and Galahs sound wonderful companions!

  3. You would have walked from Adelaide to Melbourne – check out a map of Australia. That would take you from my house, along the Great Ocean Road to Fiona Lowe’s and onto Melbourne 🙂 although it might be a while between cups of tea and toilets! Good luck this year xx

    1. Oh wow! Thank you Emily! Adelaide to Melbourne sounds like a fabulous trek, with so much to see along the way. By the time I got to Fiona’s house I’d definitely be up for cup of tea, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

