Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Happy April!

I was going to say something witty about the fact April showers bring May flowers, but it’s April 7th and there’s snow on the ground where I live. Boo!

I love April, even though it’s usually a rainy month. April is my birthday month. It means, ice cream cake! WOOT!

Although, since starting Weight Watchers in January I might opt for some frozen yogurt. *little woot*

April is also a very busy month for me. Ever since I sold to Harlequin, I always seem to have a deadline around or right before my birthday. I’m not complaining, because I love the work. And honestly, I never really noticed before until my husband started building my office in the basement.

See, I had this great office in the spare bedroom in the basement, but then my daughter became a teenager and wanted her own space (and bathroom), so I gave up that room so she could get away from her brothers. The boys each had their own room upstairs and I worked in the living room, with stuff scattered in boxes in the unfinished part of the basement.

Then, my boys missed being together. So they took their bunk beds and moved back into a room together. I took the other upstairs room. I loved it. I loved having that office again where I could close a door and work. I wrote One Night in New York and my Sealed with a Valentine’s Kiss duet in that room.

Ahh. It was heaven. That lasted about a year. Then, the fighting and bickering started as they got older.

I went back to my boxes in the basement and have been working in the living room. I escape to hotel rooms near my deadline to work, because it’s hard once the kids come home to write in the living room. Since I dropped Diet Coke for good, I can’t pull all nighters and with working out …I don’t want too. I’m tired.

My husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I said a small room where I can shut you all out. I love my family, but for my sanity and career, I need a door between us.

So, he went to work. Everything is done (as of writing this blog post) but the door.

The first thing up was my new wardrobe. It’s massive and I was finally able to take all the copious author copies from 14 books (currently out) and store them somewhere safe. This picture isn’t even the foreign translations. I keep one copy of foreign translation books and I’m shipping out a bunch to different libraries.

IMG_0209
14 books released so far, 3 books per shelves. All the hard covers are on the bottom. It’s a lot of books!

Then after the walls were up I got bookshelves! They’re pretty bare, but it’s a work in progress. Nice to have all my books together. Something to look at.

The table I work at is one my Mom made when she was moving into her first apartment, or rather she was going to move into her first apartment alone and then met my Dad. LOL

IMG_0206
Yep, that’s a Mountie Bear and the painting is one I did.

I can’t wait to finish unpacking, but I’m headed to Toronto this weekend for an all day workshop with the Toronto Romance Writers. Since it starts bright and early Saturday, I’m spending the night in my old hometown by myself in a hotel room to write.

And I’m taking the train. I love taking the train, especially business class because I can work on the train. It’s a 3 hr train ride (roughly) to downtown T.O.

It’s only one night away, since I’m catching the late night train back to London, Ontario Saturday night, but I’m planning on enjoying the silence and cranking up the word count.

Maybe, just maybe there will be door to my office on my return.

Oh and in March, I had 2 releases! Check them out.

9780373215164

His Pregnant Royal Bride (Royal Spring Babies Book 1)

Pregnant with the prince’s baby

Nurse Shay Labadie’s one exquisite night of passion with Dr. Dante Affini was meant to be a beautiful memory. But now Shay’s expecting…and Dante is expecting her to take his hand in marriage!

Dante’s proposal is shocking enough, but then he drops an even bigger bombshell—he’s not just a doctor, he’s a prince! Now to win his child and the woman he loves, Dante will have to prove he can master his most important role yet—as the husband Shay deserves…

BiochemicalReaction_highres

The Omega Team: Biochemical Reaction

An attraction like no other…

Former Navy Seal Jack Crane walked away after a chemical attack wiped out his platoon and scarred him, forcing him out of the military–the hardest thing he ever had to do…Until Omega Team contacted him to protect an undercover agent at a secret lab.

Lisa Morgan had nothing to lose when she took on the assignment to uncover Bio-Tek’s dark secrets concerning the deadly chemical agent that killed her brother and cost her the only man she ever loved a decade ago when he walked away.

When the man hired to protect her turns out to be Jack, she’s forced to trust with her life the man she couldn’t trust with her heart, and make sure the antidote for that terrible chemical gets into the right hands before it’s too late.

 

You can find out more about Amy here:

Website: www.amyruttan.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AmyRuttanAuthor?ref=hl

TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/ruttanamy

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/amyruttan/

Newsletter: http://www.amyruttan.com/contact.html#newsletter

 

11 thoughts on “Happy April!”

  1. Have a fantastic birthday month lovely my daughters 18 this month too, where does the time go. Completely love that your hubby set you up in your own space again, love your wardrobe shelves and book cases hubby said ooo good idea so I may end up with similar lol, have an amazing time in Toronto and enjoy, loved both of these books brilliant as always,
    Huge love and hugs

    Gwessie x

  2. I Amy

    April is a great month for birthdays 🙂 I just had one of those 0 one 🙂

    Love the office way to go and I loved loved His Pregnant Royal Bride what a fabulous story I need to get the other one. Have a fabulous time I love train trips they are lots of fun and I can read on them. I am off on a cruise on Monday hubby and I are going for out 40th wedding anniversary and we are looking forward to that.

    have Fun
    Helen

  3. When my youngest son moved out 5 years ago, I claimed his room as my office/art center. Have yet to really use it, as my hubby got sick and it ended up being part storage room for medical supplies, as in Florida we have no basements, or attics in my neighborhood. Now that he is better, I need to get in there and reclaim my space.

    On Fri, Apr 7, 2017 at 11:13 AM, Love is the Best Medicine wrote:

    > ruttanamy posted: “I was going to say something witty about the fact April > showers bring May flowers, but it’s April 7th and there’s snow on the > ground where I live. Boo! I love April, even though it’s usually a rainy > month. April is my birthday month. It means, ice cream ” >

  4. I second Helen’s comment about April being a great month for birthdays, as I celebrated mine, too! 🙂 An organized office is high on my list of to-dos – mine is currently such a catastrophe, I can’t even use it. I love your new bookcases – I think that’s part of the problem with mine – not enough space for my books and others!

    Hope your trip to Toronto is going well!

    1. Oh man, yeah the chaos thing makes it incredibly hard to focus. I came home and there was a door! Hooray! Since I’m racing towards a finish line of a book due Friday, I’m looking forward to using it.

  5. Office looks AMAZING! I have a corner in the living room…so even though I sometimes have to share…I still have the best view in the house! (I suppose I should mean my computer screen, but I don’t!…hee hee!) Happy birthday girlie xx Annie

Leave a Reply

