Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Young at Heart

It is true what they say about Baby Boomers (the demographic group born during the post–World War II baby boom, approximately between the years 1946 and 1964. This includes people who are between 53 and 71 years old in 2017, according to the U.S. Census Bureau). We don’t age the same way our parents did. While we may complain now and then about our arthritic knees, the need to wear glasses to read our mobile telephone messages and our annoying bunions, we refuse to slow down. We fight the aging process by keeping up the pace we did in our younger years.

UnknownBaby Boomer Estate Planning

Last night I was in the audience of an outdoor evening concert. A trifecta of musical talent. Australian legend, Russell Morris, the brilliant Doobie Brothers and the amazing Carlos Santana. Not even the bitterly cold breeze nor the threat of rain kept us away from the concert in the Botanic Park. Baby Boomers were there in droves, rugged up a little more than we might have been forty to fifty years ago but we were there among the towering gum trees swaying our hips to the rhythms and singing along in harmony … well we hope in harmony because most of us damaged our hearing over the years by playing our stereos far too loudly to really know how we sound.  But to be honest we don’t care because we are having a good time.  Enjoying life and not taking ourselves too seriously. We grew up in a time of change and rebelled against the establishment and rules that we knew in our hearts had to be broken.  Now we are going through the ‘other change’ but choosing to ignore the hot flushes and still rebelling by having fun.

AARP Baby Boomers (Sean McCabe)

I love my life and after health scares along the way I appreciate everyone and everything in it even more. I am blessed to have grown up in a time that allowed me to find my own style and make mistakes without social media having a record of my dubious choices. We were not not the victims of technology instead we had just enough to make life interesting and still enjoy our freedom.

images

Looking back is wonderful but Baby Boomers very much live in the present.  I am writing the blog at midnight because tonight (only one night after the trifecta outdoor concert) I was at a surprise 60th Birthday party … and it was a blast.

One day we may grow up … or not!

baby-boomers-the-sweetspot-demographic-in-the-middle-of-the-action-15-638

Are you a Baby Boomer or do you know one who still likes to live life to the the fullest?

 

5 thoughts on “Young at Heart”

  1. Yep, I’m a baby boomer, and I am so pleased Facebook wasn’t there for me to tell something I would have regretted. Loved the post, Susanne. Made me smile and remember and acknowledge I’d been listing to Paul Simon while I built my rowing machine just two nights ago. And yes, I was wondering this as I sat to write at 4am, before work at 6.30, wondered if those young midwives at work could keep up. 🙂
    Feeling blessed, and happy. xxFi

  2. I’m a tail-end boomer. I’m as busy as I ever was. Sometimes I’m slower but I am still making plans for trips and to do things I hope to accomplish. You sound like you had a wonderful time. The concert had to have been amazing. I still listen to that old music and my kids even know it from me having it on the radio. Good stuff never goes away.

  3. Baby boomer here too – and enjoying life every single day, despite the arthritis that plagues me everywhere. (I laughed when having a mammogram last week, as the technician turned my straight-out arm and my elbow creaked. She had no idea that such a thing could happen ALL over my body at any given moment, so she was relieved that it wasn’t just HER causing it.)

    Having kids helps me to “stay young” (or at least appear that way sometimes – just not first thing in the morning or when getting up from a low chair). When my 30-year-old daughter drops in and asks if I’d like to join her on a “road trip” (anywhere within a 2-hour radius usually), I drop everything, including work (unless the deadline is within hours), and work into the night to get caught up later. I know that there will be a day when my daughter won’t be able to do those road trips as easily or as often (like when she and her husband have children), so I’m enjoying every moment I can – and then I’ll enjoy every moment after that too!

  4. I’m a few years off being a Boomer, Susanne, but a lot of my musical tastes run to that era and of course the wonderful 70s and 80s. Like Fiona, I was listening to Simon Garfunkel all last week beacuse I realised it’d been a while.
    There are some mornings I wake up and everything hurts though, which doesn’t bode well :-/ but we have 2 OS trip in the next 12 months and I plan to live my life to the fullest – that why they invented pain killers 🙂

  5. I miss Baby Boomerhood by a year (apparently I’m Gen X) but I definitely think to hell with age, it’s just a number and I aim to enjoy myself every step of this journey!! I am the same age now as my mother in law was when I met her and I cannot believe how different we are in every aspect- the most striking being attitude and outlook. When she was my age she acted ‘old’ and seemed to be counting down to the end of her days (she’s still alive and still has this attitude). Whereas I’m very much invested in my job, I love it and I love all the opportunities I have outside of work. Yes, there are aches and pains (and the dreaded hot flushes) but there is so much more than that too!

Leave a Reply

