Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Waiting, by Scarlet Wilson

Today I am waiting.  And that wait seems to go on forever.

Waiting is not my best skill.  When we were queueing for qualities, someone forgot to tell me about the patience queue.  I have none – and it’s a thing we all need.  Strange thing is, when I worked in the hospital I had it in abundance for my patients.  Home?  Children?  Myself?  Not so much.

Anyway, today I’d hoped to show you the cover for my new YA title which goes to press at the end of April and hits the shelves in July.  Unfortunately, I can’t.   After having a cover I really did quite like, they’ve decided to change it.  That’s fine.  Apparently the original might not appear to the target audience.  Since marketing isn’t on my skill list either, I have to accept that and wait…..

In the meantime, they’ve sent my book out for others to read.  Because this is a Young Adult book, that means they send books out to children.

So instead of showing you my cover, I’ll show you first piece of fan mail I’ve received as a Young Adult author.

IMG_3931

I love it.  The girl read the book, loved it, sent me a letter and drew me a picture of what she thinks the cover should look like.  I won’t publish the letter because it has her details on it, I’ll only say her name is Megan and I am so happy she’s read it and enjoyed to it.

It sent a tingle all the way down to my toes!  Shouldn’t that only happen in romance novels…..
14 thoughts on “Waiting, by Scarlet Wilson”

  1. That is so cool! Getting fan mail before the book has even been published? That’s a winner, right there. Congratulations to you, Scarlet! Hopefully, you won’t have to wait too much longer for the real cover and then before you know it, the book will be on the shelves. I’m so happy for you!

  2. Scarlett,
    It must be a great book because kids don’t pull any punches. When they like something they like it. Congratulations.

  3. Oh. My. Heavens. This is so exciting. Fan art. It can’t get much better than that. This is so exciting. Hunger Games meets Jurassic Park? WHAT AN ELEVATOR PITCH!!! So thrilled for you. Bring provisions behind the sofa. And when you come out – I am sure there will be tonnes of applause. xx Annie O’

  4. Oh, Scarlet, I’m late with this comment, but had to tell you how awesome I think that is! How wonderful that the girl loved your book enough to draw a cover for it. So happy that another group of readers are going to get to enjoy your work. Can’t wait to see the real cover! Here’s hoping for many sales 🙂

Leave a Reply

