Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

A Wedding Coming Next Year!

A couple Sundays ago, my daughter texted her father and me to say she and her boyfriend Kyle would like to stop by that evening to show us something, and would we be home?

We were tempted to throw a bottle of champagne into an ice bucket, but figured we should wait to see for sure exactly what they wanted to show us! But we had a pretty good idea, as a couple months earlier, Kyle had contacted my husband and me, asking if we’d meet him at a coffee shop. Looking very nervous after initial chit-chat (and we were feeling nervous, too!) Kyle asked for our blessing to ask Arianna to marry him. While my husband privately felt they’re too young, I pointed out that must a father thing, because they’re both 25, have been dating three years, have college degrees, and good jobs 🙂 Kyle said all the right things to make our hearts happy and put a little tear in our eyes, (not to mention that he’s a really wonderful young man) so we gave our blessing.

Fast forward to a couple months later, and Arianna thought they were just going hiking to a beautiful spot near here with Kyle’s dog, Kyle’s sister Lauren, and her dog. But he and Lauren had it planned out, and she snapped photos of him proposing to Arianna, capturing my daughter’s reaction.

K&A1

KyleProposing.JPG

Awww! Isn’t that beautiful? I’m really happy for both of them. Arianna is our oldest, and our first wedding, so this will be exciting! Stay tuned for me likely torturing you about it in the future (they’re planning on it happening summer of 2018). 🙂

So here are a couple more photos of the happy couple, and Kyle’s dog who doesn’t seem terribly impressed by the whole thing. 🙂

K&Akissing.JPGAriKyleHappyLaylaHH

Any advice you can give me regarding planning a wedding? Pitfalls, things to include or avoid? I’d love your input! xoxo

17 thoughts on “A Wedding Coming Next Year!”

  1. Hi Robin

    Woohoo congrats to the lovely couple this is just beautiful oh and weddings are lots of fun I have three of my four children are married but they did it all themselves there were a few questions here and there and three lovely weddings two of my daughters had small friendly party type weddings and my son had a bigger one that was more formal but great also. I am sure you are all going to have a fabulous time choosing dresses and flowers and cakes and invitations lots of fun.

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Hi, Helen! I think if it was up to my daughter, it would be a smaller wedding celebration. But in my husband’s (and mine) Greek heritage family, who come from all over to attend weddings, it has to be either super small or really big, unfortunately! I suspect it will end up being big, but we’ll see! Thanks for your well-wishes! xoxo

    1. Thank you, Amy! They are truly well-suited to one another – a reminder to me of why romance is so wonderful 🙂

    1. Thank you, Amy! Yes, you’re a long way from these days, but they come faster than we
      ever think they will! xoxo

  2. Wow! He picked a beautiful place to propose, next to a waterfall … he’s a keeper! Congratulations to the happy couple. None of mine are married yet, I have four teenagers still in school, so that’s good. Think I might need to start saving more!

    1. I have a bad feeling it’s going to be expensive, because keeping the guest list down is going to be a challenge, Louisa! But my daughter is a reasonable person, and I have no fears she’ll go all bridezilla, like I hear some do 🙂

    1. As I said to Amy, these milestones come faster than we think, Fiona! I love hearing the stories about your boys and the awesome things they’re doing. And someday, maybe wedding plans too 🙂

  3. Congratulations to the happy couple!!! My younger son’s girlfriend had a business trip to Las Vegas 3 years ago over Thanksgiving (and my son’s 30th birthday). So they decided to elope while they were there. They had a small party at their house before Christmas to celebrate. My older son’s wife wanted the story book wedding, and thank goodness her wealthy grandparents paid for it. I shudder to think of the cost. It was really beautiful, but I could have spent that money on a lot of other things. The one thing I absolutely hated was their wedding photographer. He took over 4000 pictures, forgot most of our family and when the finished album came it was on cardboard stock and had a light sepia overtint. I was not a fan. My kids always tease me because I have a camera with me at all times,but my pictures were so much better than his.

    1. Eloping in Las Vegas! Now that sounds like a romance novel, Laurie! 🙂 Yes, weddings can be overly extravagant, in my opinion – we went to one last summer that was gorgeous but incredibly over-the-top. I can’t imagine what they must have spent on flowers alone! We’re just in the initial planning stages (finding a place to have the reception) and will have to find a balance between a beautiful wedding that somehow doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, because, yes, I’d think that money could be put to use on something with longer value.

      Photographers! See, I hadn’t even thought about that yet. Though doubtless my daughter will – she’s very organized. How could a wedding photographer miss half the family? That’s really too bad. I hope you and your handy camera got them all in, at least! 🙂

  4. Coming in late, Robin, to wish your daughter and her fiancee every happiness together! What gorgeous photos, thank you for sharing (and yes, we definitely need as many pictures as possible). x

Leave a Reply

