Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Hot Docs!, Readers Blogs

Reading Romance can be Educational by guest blogger, Laurie Bodshaug.

Please welcome to the blog, Laurie Bodshaug, a delightful Amercian, and an avid reader of Harlequin Mills & Boon medical romances. Over to you, Laurie!

Collages

I have been a voracious reader all my life. I read the Nancy Drew books, and became fast friends with the librarian at our Children’s library. Miss Lucy knew everything about books, and she sparked my interest in medicine because she had a disfiguring illness. I’m sure she wondered why a 10-year-old, who loved to visit the library, would want to spend hours talking to her about her disease and treatment. She pointed me to the Cherry Ames nursing books, and then to worlds of Penny and Pam, and Sue Barton, all nursing students who I followed through their studies and adventures when they graduated. After a brief flirtation with becoming an art education teacher, I changed my major to nursing, and I have been an RN for 39 years this week.

At 18, I discovered romance novels when I was babysitting; those very early and not so spicy stories had me hooked. Then came the bodice rippers, which I had to cover and keep on a high shelf to keep my young sons from being scandalized. In the early 2000’s, I came across a box of Harlequins at a yard sale and became hooked again.  About 3 years ago, I found a set of Medical Romances, and I was home! Books that combined my nursing background, love for travel and romance. What could be better? The community hospitals I worked at never had real life romances like those.

There was one thing I didn’t expect to gain from reading romance: it was a learning experience.  As I read, I kept a little notebook and pencil by my side and it became 1453769361153filled with things I wanted to learn more about. I looked up words, recipes, travel articles and medical textbooks from other countries to get a better feel for the stories and the things in them. The British/Australian spellings and alternate words have earned me hundreds of extra Scrabble points. (Thank you to the writers who gave me wadis, sirocco, kumaras and many other words). I have made lamingtons, bought Tim-Tams and attempted a Pavlova.

australia-cruise

I especially enjoy the books set in the UK, (because I have actually been there) New Zealand and Australia. The Sydney Harbor Hospital series reeled me in). If I HAVE to suffer through Italy or Greece, or any of the other countries written about, I will do so gladly. My travel bucket list has many new places, an Australian cruise/tour is at the top of it.

The biggest thing I’ve learned from all those medical romances is that love is what we all need and that you can find your happily ever after in the most unexpected place or situation. Sometimes, love finds you quite literally, by accident.  While things may not always be perfect, these heroes and heroines always look for a silver lining while helping each other and their patients, and it’s so nice these days to read about something that ends happily! lgcover.9781488022074

The first of the month will be here soon, and I will open my Kindle to 6 more medical
romances
and hours of reading enjoyment. Until then, I will have to daydream about being mildly injured in a desert wadi in Western Australia, being rescued by a gorgeous, blue-eyed Italian doctor bearing a green whistle and the key to my heart, who actually is my boss at my new job.  🙂

What do you enjoy most about reading medical romances?

20 thoughts on “Reading Romance can be Educational by guest blogger, Laurie Bodshaug.”

  1. Laurie! Great blog. My hat is off to your 39 years as an RN. I lasted 25. I think I’d die if I had to work the wards these days. I love knowing there are people out there who subscribe to the digital versions of our books. Yay! When I sold my first Medical romance I was one of only four US authors to write for Mills & Boon. I hope you enjoy the US settings as well, though you could probably teach us authors a thing or two with all of your experience.
    I hope you get to take that Australian cruise one day soon.
    Thanks for being a loyal reader of Medical Romance. It is a great line and more people should know about it.

    1. My downfall in nursing was my Rheumatoid Arthritis and its complications. In 2011 I got really bad side effects from Humira that landed me in the hospital with cardiac and pulmonary issues. Right before I got that last career ending illness, we were expected to walk around with a mini-laptop strapped to our hand like a serving tray and chart at bedside. Not allowed to put the laptop on the patient’s bed table due to germs, but there was no way I could even hold it, let alone type at the same time. I was able to get my Dr. to write me a note so I could have my laptop on a rolling cart, as well as use a mouse. To me it was easier to jot my notes on paper like I have for 35 years and type them up sitting at a desk, as there was no way I could stand for long periods of time and chart. It also seemed so counter productive to stay in a patient room and do that because you got less done in twice the time. I was very glad I was in the nursery 90% of the time instead of at the bedside. I miss my babies and taking care of them, but I know i don’t have the stamina to do that any more. I just wish my hospital days were a bit “spicier” in the romance department. All we had was an older OB who was cheating on his wife with several nurses, and he wasn’t anything special.

  2. I have visited many places after reading about them in books 🙂 I have also read Austen in Bath, Bronte in Yorkshire, The Godfather in Italy, The Lighthouse Keeper’s Wife on Bruny Island..you get the idea 🙂 Thanks for being with us today, Laurie 🙂

  3. Great post, Laurie, and thank you for being a lover of Medical romance 🙂 I love the idea of you making notes as you read – I also really enjoy the interesting medical facts that get mixed in with the romance. And if you haven’t had success with a pavlova yet I think the secret is making sure your egg whites are at room temperature, use castor sugar and a pavlova will never work in humid conditions! Good luck.

    1. FYI Laurie, when I lived in the US I used ‘super fine sugar’ as you guys don’t have ‘castor sugar’ per se. ANd Emily is correct…cold egg whites don’t fluff. Also PILE the meringe really HIGH. I made more pavlovas in the three years I lived in the US than I’ve ever made. People would say, ‘oh can you bring that white dessert!’

  4. Love this post, Laurie. With a nursing career of 27 years I too, take my hat off to you! Especially continuing and pushing through with your Rheumatoid arthritis problems!

    I too read Cherry Ames and Sue Barton from the library – my Mum put me on to them – this was long before I ever thought about being a nurse but maybe it was always in my destiny 🙂

    I’m so happy you mentioned the Sydney Harbour Hospital series. I’m so proud to have been a part of that series. Even when they asked me to write Finn and Evie’s story. Redeeming that man was a helluva job let me tell you 🙂

    It was so great getting to know you a bit more xxx

  5. Hi Laurie

    I share your love of the medical romances they are so good and I love getting lost in them and travelling the world, and I do hope you get over to Australia one day I would love to share Sydney with you and our gorgeous harbour woohoo Laurie fabulous post

    Have Fun
    Helen

  6. Oh that is such a perfect way to look at medical romances. As a bit of a mad traveller myself, I also love visiting other places through romance, and I dream of the settings in the stories I read.

  7. Great post! I love hearing how reading any kind of books affects the reader and what it gives them and I’m so pleased that our medical romances have inspired and entertained you over the years, Laurie!

  8. Fabulous post, Laurie! It’s one of the things I like about reading romance – you learn the strangest things. And writing romance too, for that matter. After having worked in the centre of London most of my life, I thought I knew the place pretty well, until I got a street name wrong and managed to have my characters running in a road race along the north bank of the Thames, and yet past all the places on the South Bank! A few last minute adjustments needed 🙂

    Thank you for joining us as a blogger!

  9. Hello, Laurie! What a wonderful blog – thanks so much for being an enthusiastic reader! I’d completely forgotten about the Cherry Ames books – I didn’t become a nurse, but do remember enjoying them. You deserve huge kudos for nursing for so many years, despite your arthritis. I’m sure you have a zillion patients who truly appreciated your help and kindness.

    Any chance you’ll be coming to the literacy signing at the RWA conference in Orlando this July? I’m not currently registered to sign books, but if you’re coming, I’d love to meet you in person! xoxo

  10. Hi, Laurie! I love writing medical romances for the same reasons you love reading them. One of my favorite parts of the process is researching medical conditions. Some of my favorite shows (like Mystery Diagnosis, Venom ER and others) have to do with medicine. I actually wanted to become a nurse, but life moved me in another direction, and so now I live through my characters!

    Thanks for loving and believing in the Medical line as much as we do!

  11. Laurie,
    You warmed my heart. And brought back great memories. I’ve read medicals from way back. I have all the same fond memories. Thanks for supporting Medicals. I hope you continue to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

