Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Reviews?

They’re the things that strike fear into every author’s heart as she clicks on the amazon book page…will they love the book? Will they hate it? Is it meh?

As authors we’re told not to look at reviews, but I have to confess I can’t help it. A few good words can send me on a happy writing day, a few bad ones can crush me for a few hours. But why do we have them? Are they useful? Do other readers pay any attention to them?

Heart page and blank white space letterboxFor authors, other than ego-rubbing or ego-deflating, reviews can be helpful to secure future book deals, can help get the book onto various sales websites (such as Bookbub who, so I’ve heard, won’t take a book unless it’s got at least 20 4-5 star reviews) and can sometimes make the difference between a sale or a pass for the unsure reader.

I’ve had my fair share of mixed reviews, but when I get a bad one I hop on over to Goodreads and read some of the reviews of some of the ‘great’ books of literature. I thought I’d have some fun and share some with you. Can you guess which books these review are from? Answers at bottom of the page.

A) This is a two star review from one of the 85,000 two star reviews for this book (there are 113,000 five star reviews too):

I FINISHED THE BOOK I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD SEE THE DAY. Granted, I blasted through eight of my nine lives to do so, but here I am. On my last legs, weak, tired, and hungry beyond any possible description, but I’m alive…

Same book, 1 star review: This book is quite possibly the most insipid novel I have ever read in my life. Why this book is so highly treasured by society is beyond me. It is 345 pages of nothing. The characters are like wispy shadows of something that could be interesting, the language that could be beautiful ends up becoming difficult to decipher and lead me more than once to skip over entire paragraphs because I became tired of having to stumble through them only to emerge unsatisfied, and the plot is non-existent

Same book 5 star review: Near perfection! ***** is one of those rare gems that weds character, plot and language all in one harmonious marriage. 

B) 5 star review (one of 57,000 5 star reviews)

Let me start by saying…. Wow! Just Wow!!

This book is 5+ stars for me!! It is my favorite kind of story. You know what I mean…just so intense that the characters get so far under your skin that you can’t stand to be away from them for any length of time? Well, that was me while reading this book, I couldn’t concentrate to get anything done 🙂

Same book 1 star: I honestly do NOT feel like revisiting this book and writing a review. I’d rather spend the time searching for ways to remove this utter nonsense from my memory. However, this book is so bad that I feel the need to warn others from this drivel. Luckily, I did not buy this garbage.

C) 1 star review (one of 3.3 million reviews!!)

If I could give this no stars, I would. This is possibly one of my least favorite books in the world, one that I would happily take off of shelves and stow in dark corners where no one would ever have to read it again.

Same book, 5 star review: In the course of 5 years, I’ve read this book nearly 17 times. That adds up to reading it once at least every 4 months, on an average. And I still return to this book like a bark seeking a lighthouse in the dark. When I first finished it, I was so overwhelmed by how much I related to it, I read it nearly 8 times before the year ended. By now I’ve memorized almost every scene and I still can’t shake off the feeling that I still have to learn a lot from it. Over the years, I realize that without knowing it, it has become my personal Bible – a beacon to keep me from straying from the path of kindness and compassion, no matter what.

Just goes to show that reading is very subjective! But be assured that a review of an author’s book is very, very helpful to their ratings, which in turn can help their career. So if you have a chance, please do add your thoughts to an amazon/nook/kobo page.

Do you write reviews? Do reviews influence your buying? 

As an aside, I have a new book out! Something About You is now available exclusively on Amazon. Here’s the blurb:

Will they risk their friendship for a night of unbridled passion?

A broken heart …
Widow Jenna Cassidy-Pearce has had her one love of a lifetime. Now she’s fine being single and focusing on her new floristry business, raising her daughter and spending time with her friends. On top of all that she’s also organizing a very secret wedding for her sister, the wedding-shy wedding planner. Jenna’s life is a whirlwind of busy-but-in-control, and that’s just how she likes it – it keeps the loneliness and the longing at bay. So when old friend Nick Welsh comes back into her life she’s not prepared for the onslaught of emotions and unwelcome lust she feels for him.

A damaged soldier …
After surviving bombs and bombshells that damaged his life and destroyed all trust, ex army officer Nick Welsh has returned to London for a quiet life. He definitely does not want to get embroiled in Jenna’s chaotic one, but there’s something about the spirited redhead with the sparkling blue eyes and complete inability to sit still that makes him keep seeking her out, and there’s a whole lot of chemistry he just can’t deny.
The healing power of love
Is he ready to trust again? And can he teach Jenna that everyone deserves another chance at love?
A fun story about family, second chances, old friends and new love.

Somthing About You - High Resolution!

Answers: A) Pride and Prejudice   B) 50 Shades of Grey    C) To Kill A Mockingbird

Do you write reviews? Do reviews influence your buying? 

14 thoughts on “Reviews?”

  1. Hi Louisa

    Firstly I have this new one waiting for me on my kindle and am looking forward to it 🙂

    And yes I review the books I read and really enjoy doing so and I often read other peoples reviews not sure if they influence me or not I normally buy books because of the author or a recommendation from a friend or the blurb 🙂

    I do have a friend who will go out and buy books that have 1 and 2 star reviews because you know we all like different things which is good 🙂

    Have Fun
    helen

  2. This is a brilliant blog, Louisa. Reviews are so subjective it’s scary. It’s almost painful at times to read them, and so encouraging other times.

  3. I’m not much of a review person. If I read a book I like then I go looking for more books by that author.

  4. Fabulous blog Louisa! I have to admit to reading reviews, too. I tend to pick my time though, if I’m at a bit of a crossroads with my writing I don’t risk it 🙂 But then I wouldn’t miss the lovely reviews for the world. And it’s always good to get feedback – some of the most helpful reviews I’ve had have been those not-so-good ones where someone’s said exactly what they did and didn’t like about a book.

  5. I don’t usually read reviews for books I read (and probably 95% are Harlequin romances, and I read an average of 15-20 month). Once I find an author I like, I usually go to my library’s website and flag all their books for my reading wish list. I have about 1800 books in my wish list…Kandy Shepard is my current binge. I also troll the library websites new e-book lists daily to see if they added new romances to add to my wish list…that method is a bit erratic as there is no rhyme or reason to what they obtain every month…..today all 6 of the medical releases for July showed up (But I subscribe to the series on harlequin) but sometimes they won’t show up for months’
    I used to get my romances by going to yard sales or thrift shops. Since I have become more involved in the social media sites the last year or so, I find new authors through the suggestions of those I like and follow, and through blogs such as this one, LoveCatsdown Under, and the Harlequin blog. I also “Like” my favorites on Facebook, and you ll seem to be very good at supporting each other by promoting new books, I get lots of suggestions there, and also when I order books for my kindle on Amazon, they auto-suggest books i might like based on my purchases.
    I’ll usually read anyone once (I do admit I am not a big fan of Old Western historicals or paranormals) Since I am now retired, my reading time has increased, and I could not be happier! Thanks for writing!

    1. Wow, Laurie with a wishlist that long you’ll be reading for quite some time to come! Ha ha! Kandy is a great writer and she’d be thrilled if she knew you were bingeing on her books! Thanks so much for all your support, we really appreciate it!

  6. when I get the inevitable bad reviews, I take heart from the fact that one of the best books in the world – Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte – has more than 35,000 1-star reviews!

Leave a Reply

