Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Introducing Sareeta Domingo

Sareeta photoHello Everyone!

My name is Sareeta Domingo, and I’m thrilled to introduce myself as the newest addition to the Harlequin/Mills and Boon Medical Romance team! Even though I joined the team back in April, it feels like I’ve blinked and the months have gone by. It’s been fantastic to get the chance to work with such a great team, and on all this gorgeous romance fiction – what more could a woman ask for? I’ve been a fan of romance for a very long time, but having started out my editorial career in children’s fiction several years back, I’m thrilled to have finally made my way over to True Love Towers. I’ve kept a blog (admittedly a bit irregular with the posts these days!) reviewing contemporary romantic fiction for the past few years (it’s called The Palate Cleanser if you want to seek it out!), and I feel a special empathy for writers having had my own romance/coming-of-age novel published last year (The Nearness of You). It truly blows my mind how talented and prolific the Harlequin/Mills and Boon authors are!

In particular, though, it’s a real treat to be able to work with so many fantastic Medical Romance authors. When I mention the idea of ‘Medical Romance’ to those who aren’t familiar with some of the Harlequin/Mills and Boon series, it seems rather specific – but actually, medicine is the perfect backdrop for romance! The heightened stakes and circumstances; the dedicated people; the drama – all that tension has to be released somehow, and love is the perfect solution. What’s romance without tension, after all?

I’ve been an avid fan of all the drama that a medical setting can bring ever since ER had me absolutely glued to the screen all those years ago (somewhat showing my age!). The thrills and spills of characters working in medicine were gripping – but it was the gut-wrenching relationships and swoon-worthy heroes that really kept me coming back. Who can forget the will-they, won’t-they of nurse Carole and playboy paediatrician Doug? (And who can forget that ER introduced us to the greatness that is George Clooney!?) And I had a particular soft spot for brooding, sensitive Dr Luka, the Croatian hero of later series of the show – if anyone wants to send me a gorgeous tall, dark Eastern European surgeon hero with a tragic past, I’d be a willing recipient!

But of course, it’s not just emergency departments that supply settings for wonderful Medical Romances – I’ve already had the chance to dart from hospital ships to small-town village practices, and Alaskan outposts to big-city operating theatres, all chock full of gorgeous romantic stories. I can’t wait to get stuck in to more. I’ll look forward to hearing from you all soon – be sure to get in touch on Twitter (@SareetaD_HqnUK)!

Happy writing!!

Sareeta x

21 thoughts on “Introducing Sareeta Domingo”

  1. Hello Sareeta

    Welcome itoo love the medical romances and have been reading them for many years I love the emotioalbpull thry have and they are heart-warming just make me feel good.

    Have Fun

    Helen

  2. Welcome, Sareeta! You can have my next hero – he’s not a brooding Croat – he’s a brooding Aussie with a Caribbean mother, but he is a surgeon with a troubled past 🙂 But you will have to wait a bit while I tidy him up!

  3. Hi, Sareeta! I can’t promise a Croatian hero, but I’ve been toying with an Italian (only in my head, of course, sadly…) so I’m half-way there from England! But troubled? Definitely. I always seem to end up torturing my characters and dragging them through the works before they get their HEA, but I love the genre, love that they can get there in the end and you’re guaranteed happiness. Pity life isn’t quite so straightforward!
    Looking forward to meeting you in September – YAY! Love a party 😉

  4. Hi Sareeta. Great to have you as part of the team. I AM writing a Croatian hero in my current medical story, and he’s divine. But then Croatia is wonderful too.

  5. Hello, Sareeta! Great to hear from you. I haven’t written a Croatian hero yet, but my medicals have been hanging out with some cowboys lately, so if you’d care to grab a cowboy hat and some boots, we’d love to have you join us out in the West! Think tight jeans, 6-pack abs…

  6. Hello, Sareeta! It’s so nice to meet you! I have a brooding hero brewing, but he’s Peruvian, not Croatian. However, he’s definitely troubled, and a work in progress 😉 Glad you’re enjoying True Love Towers!

Leave a Reply

