Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, The Writing Life

A heartfelt thanks by Kate Hardy

The highlight of my calendar is the annual M&B authors’ lunch and party. It means I get to see my author friends in person – including, if I’m lucky, some of those visiting from other countries – and the editorial team. And at the party the editors present milestone awards to the authors – this year it was to Michelle Styles (Historical) for her 25th, me for my 75th, and Carol Marinelli for her amazing 100th!

I think the easiest way to show what it’s like is by photographs. So here I am with Sheila Hodgson, senior Medicals ed (she edits my Medicals)

image

And in the M&B offices where Sheila said some very nice things indeed about my books and almost made me cry.

image

Carol Marinelli making her speech

image

Oh, and did I mention the amazing view from the top floor of the News International building?

image

The party in full swing:

image

Me with Carol (and it’s not going to be another 10 years before we meet up again!)

image

With my other editor, Megan Haslam (who edits my Cherish/Romance books)

image

And my milestone award for my 75th book – this gorgeous Tiffany keyring 🙂

image

But one thing I said in my speech I’d like to share here: authors don’t write their books in a vacuum. I’m incredibly blessed to have the most wonderful friends (officially colleagues and editors, but definitely friends) – people you can talk to when you’ve painted yourself into a corner and they’ll brainstorm ideas of how to get you out again; people who understand what it’s like when you get ‘tiny tweaks’ revisions (which are nothing of the kind!!); people who celebrate the good times with you and are there for you in the tough times (and it definitely goes both ways). And I’m also privileged to have wonderful readers – without you, I wouldn’t be able to do the job I love. So I want to say a very big thank you to you all, from the bottom of my heart xxx

6 thoughts on “A heartfelt thanks by Kate Hardy”

  1. It was a wonderful evening! I’m so glad I was there to see everyone get their pins and celebrate with you on such a special night xxx

  2. Woohoo Kate huge congrats to you and the Editors and other authors that help along the way we readers love your stories and are here to cheer you so as you can make us smile

    Have Fun
    Helen

Leave a Reply

