Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Things that make me happy

I’ve struggled with writing this year. Not sure of all the reasons, but I know the main one has been anxiety over the political climate in the U.S. and the bad news all over the world that keeps becoming worse news. It makes my gut churn and my heart ache, and it’s hard to write love stories with happy endings when I’m feeling that way.

I decided something had to change. And since I can’t change all the other stuff, I started focusing on things that make me happy. Things that make me smile and feel good. And it’s working! 🙂 I’m having a lot of fun with the book I’m writing now, thank heavens.

With the goal of feeling happy in mind, I’m sharing some of that happy with you. Here are photos of things that make me smile.

 

The autumn color here wasn’t as beautiful as usual, for the most part, probably because the weather has been strange (very cool in August, then hot in October!). It didn’t help that we had lots of rain this past week, which knocked leaves off trees that were turning. But here’s one that put on a show, anyway. The colors make me happy.

AutumnTree

Last month, my husband and I were at my favorite place – his uncle’s house on the beach in San Diego. I absolutely love it there. There’s nothing like the steady sound of the ocean and soothing feel of the breeze to make anyone feel calm and at peace. There’s also nothing like the amazing sunsets when the horizon is clear of clouds. Nothing makes me happier than waking up with the sounds and scents of the sea.

SDSunset

We’ve been to several family weddings this year, which were wonderful, especially because I got to spend time with all three of my kids together, which doesn’t happen often enough any more. Here are my three offspring spiffed up in their finery 🙂

Ari,James,GeoWedding

And speaking of weddings, my daughter is engaged! Apparently the thing to do these days is take engagement photos. Here’s one of them – I think it looks like a romance novel cover! 🙂

Ari:KyleB&W

Here’s the bluebird that has decided to stare at me through the window in my office. I think he’s been battling the bluebird he sees in the window, which is why he has an angry look in one of these photos 🙂 But lots of time he just relaxes there. And who wouldn’t feel charmed and happy with a bluebird by your side?

 

And speaking of wildlife staring at me while I’m working, this doe seems to be asking for me to bring her a treat, doesn’t she? 🙂

DoeStaringInWindow

And then there’s our silly cat. He’s supposed to be my son’s pet – his friend’s cat had a litter last year and he couldn’t resist the kitten cuteness, even though we told him not to bring it home! So of course, Anakin is here now even though my son is back in school in an apartment. But we lost our old cat last month, so I have to admit that having this one around makes me smile. He likes to ‘help’ me write, and also believes he should take up the maximum amount of space possible 🙂

 

 

While there are lots of other things that make me happy, I’ll close with a few photos of a drive my hubby and I recently took through country roads. It was a beautiful day, and the huge combines were everywhere harvesting corn. I wasn’t able to catch a photo of corn pouring from the chutes into trucks practically overflowing with it, but it was a sight to see. And then there was the new, green, winter wheat. A lovely sign of next year to come 🙂

 

 

One more thing to be happy about? My tenth release! THE SPANISH DUKE’S HOLIDAY PROPOSAL is out this month. It’s part of the Christmas in Manhattan series with books by Janice Lynn, Alison Roberts, Amalie Berlin, Amy Ruttan and Susan Carlisle.

Here’s a photo of my book with me holding my 10th book pin from RWA 🙂

SpanishDuke:pin

Here’s hoping for you to feel a whole lot of happy too, starting right now! xoxo

11 thoughts on “Things that make me happy”

  1. Hi Robin

    What a beautiful post and photos I agree sadly we have to concentrate on the good and the happiness in the world these days and keep smiling share the love and I love reading the stories that authors like you write because they do make me smile 🙂

    I have to say Anakin looks so much like our Sparrow 🙂

    Have Fun

    Helen

    Oh and I am looking forward to your 10th book woohoo

    1. Hi, Helen! I’ve seen photos of your Sparrow, haven’t I? Is he quite a character? Because Anakin sure is 🙂

      Thanks for always being such a lovely supporter of romance authors – you’re someone who makes me smile often xoxo

        1. I think our Anakin would really appreciate having another cat to play with. He and the dog used to when he was a kitten, but they pretty much ignore each other now. Alas, my hubby is ready to be pet-free, and not interested in getting another one! 🙂

  2. What is it with kids getting a kitten from a friend and leaving it with mom when they move out? That’s how I got my Roxie 15 years ago when my son was a junior in high school. My son moved out in 2005, but he left Roxie (who was bonded with me and my 2 cats) behind. A few years later I came home from working an overnight shift to find a cat carrier with a big fat calico in it on my front porch. No note, just a fat kitty. My son came over later that day and wanted to know why his ex girlfriends cat was there. Seems they got a cat together and she decided to award custody to my son. “Tubby” stayed with me for about a week, when he went to live with my son and the new girlfriend (now his wife). Tubby now has 2 new rescue kittens to play with.
    Roxie is my shadow, I can’t do anything in the house without her help.
    besides Roxie, my happy things are my family, friends and getting new books! And I am really happy when the outdoor temperature is in the 70’s and the humidity of Florida is gone for a few days!

  3. Laurie, I am laughing at your story about the calico showing up on your doorstep, and it being the ex-girlfriend’s! That is too funny. And I love that your son’s new girlfriend became his wife – the cat story should be in a romance novel 🙂

    I’m sure the weather is gorgeous i central Florida right now! It’s quite cold here this weekend, but the sun is shining, which is really all I want. It’s the gray days of gloom that get me down! Happy weekend, and thanks for stopping by xoxo

      1. I never thought about cooking a turkey when it’s super warm out, Laurie! For a long time now we’ve cooked ours outside on a kettle grill in a technique called Pandora’s Turkey. It’s super good and leaves the oven free, not to mention that the men like to stand around the grill bundled for the cold with a fire in the fire pit, listening to the bird cook. Kind of nice!

    1. I think she’s very much a mix of me and her dad, Amy, but have had a number of people think we look quite a bit alike. She’s a very special girl, but then, most of us think that about our daughters don’t we? 🙂 I enjoyed seeing the photo of your son and daughter in Austrian clothes, I believe? Both adorable!!

Leave a Reply

